Judd Apatow On How He First Got In Touch With Lena Dunham

Image

As one of the biggest names in Hollywood, Judd Apatow continues to make huge blockbuster hits, while also producing the critically-acclaimed series Girls along with creator Lena Dunham. While receiving the Peabody Award for the HBO show in New York City Monday, May 20, Apatow let me in on his version of meeting the 27-year-old for the first time.

“I saw her film Tiny Furniture. I emailed her that it was great and if she ever needed somebody to help her out to give me a call,” he recalled. “She thought it was some joke of some kind. But she did call and happened to be working with my friend Jenni Konner on the pilot of Girls. So I was very lucky.”

Back in 2012, Dunham admitted to Chelsea Lately that she thought Apatow’s initial email was a complete joke. “I thought the email was a prank because it was titled, “From Judd Apatow.” And I was like, ‘Okay, if this was the real Judd Apatow he wouldn’t need to write me an email that said “From Judd Apatow.” Adding, “My friend Isabelle has a computer program that you can use to send people emails from fake addresses…So I wrote back, ‘If this is Isabelle, eat yourself. If this is Judd Apatow, thank you so much I’m such a big fan.’ So he said, ‘No, call me on this number.’ And so I called and he answered, ‘Hi, this is Isabelle.'”

A great story to tell, Girls is now in production for its third season.

Leave a Reply

