Peta Murgatroyd Talks ‘DWTS’ Start And Helping Sean Lowe With His Wedding Dance

Image

 

Peta Murgatroyd and Sean Lowe may have taken their last bows on the dance floor, but as the pro dancer has pointed out, the two have gained a friendship while competing on this season’s Dancing with the Stars. Getting matched with the Bachelor contestant was what she was hoping for, and now she’s revealed that she’ll definitely be helping out the 29-year-old and his fiance, Catherine Giudice, on their wedding dance. 

Check out what Peta had to say in our latest interview: the 26-year-old talks behind-the-scenes on what it was like scheduling practices with Lowe, what fans can find in her dance bag, and what part of the series gets her extra nervous during the live tapings. 

What was the process like getting on Dancing with the Stars?
PETA MURGATROYD: We did have to go through an audition process, but I actually got chosen from being on stage with Burn the Floor—a show I was doing on Broadway. Some of the producers flew to New York to see what the show was about and to scout ballroom dancers and I happened to be one of the dancers they chose. They immediately offered me a contract and I really, really wanted to stay and wait out my contract on Broadway because I loved being in the theater world. So I did that and I signed a contract the next season.

Is there anything that surprised you the most about the show once joining?
You know what, its more mentally draining that physically draining. On the show I was on before it was way more physically draining. This now is teaching for 8 hours a day, but I’ve grown to love so much more because of the relationships you take away with you because so many hours a day. You are a part of their lives, and I’m so grateful to at the end of the day after all this fun get to think of these people as friends.

What was it like working around each other’s schedules to practice this season with Sean Lowe?
He’s amazing! He’s exactly the person that I wanted to get this season. He’s fun loving, he’s a dedicated worker, and he listens to me. We have a great communication and respect for one another. I find that respect and communication is the key to having the best partnership to go all the way. Those things are the most important because you don’t listen to each other you’re never going to get any work done. [Laughs] I think his spirit really shines through. He doesn’t have a mean bone in his body, this guy. Exactly what you see on television, he’s the Sean in real-life. I’m very lucky to have him.

What’s your day-to-day workout plan with him?
Sean and I like to start practicing early in the morning to about 4 or 5. We find that some days we’ve had rehearsals that start from 3 p.m. to 11 p.m., which we will just shut down. So we have realized that it’s better to start at about 9 until 4. Sometimes we take a break to grab lunch, but otherwise we will snack in the studio and just keep working.

We always see behind-the-scenes footage, but do you and Sean like to practice alone often or do you spend a decent amount of time with the rest of the cast?
We absolutely interact with the other cast members! I definitely don’t like being away in another studio just because I like to feel the competition around me. I like to know what the other people are doing around me and where they are at with their dances and just to gage how they are going throughout the week.

What can we find in your dance bag?
I have a shoe brush, which I scrape my shoes all the time before I get on my feet. I have leg warmers at all times. I have eye drops for dry eyes [laughs]. I have my makeup case for me always, and an iPad to tape everything Sean does at all times [laughs].

Will you be helping Sean and Catherine with their wedding dance?
Absolutely, yeah! I really want to do that. I was talking about it with him and Catherine and to do that for them. I would presume that they would want to do a Waltz, which is the normal dance to do. I think that they will be beautiful at it, and Catherine is actually quite a talented dancer. She’s very coordinated and rhythmical, so it will be very easy to teach them how to do it.

Let’s talk about the first time you were in the bottom two. You were stressing me out! What is it like being on the chopping block like that?
I just thought it was going to be pulling one on us and it was going to be a surprise elimination. Sean thought the same thing. That’s what I thought was going to happen so that was running through my head. I always get super nervous when that red light comes on. I think we weren’t expecting to be in the bottom two. I thought the votes would just carry us through a little bit more, but his scores were low and it wasn’t a really great dance. 

What’s been your favorite moment or dance this season?
Probably the Quickstep, I had so much fun doing that. It was my highlight for sure with Sean. I think he did an amazing job. He really killed it and he really showed the judges. [Laughs] 

Leave a Reply

