Tiffani Thiessen Looks Back On Her ‘Saved By The Bell’ Beginnings And Favorite Bayside Moment

Image

Saved by the Bell is the ultimate high school classic. From Zack Morris and his big phone, to Kelly Kapowski being every guy’s crush, it isn’t surprising that audiences are still able to catch reruns when they wake up in the morning to get ready for school. During a recent interview with Tiffani Thiessen, she looked back at her favorite Bayside moment, and when she really knew she had made it in the business.

“I think there were two separate thoughts to it. I remember the first time I got a paycheck I was like, ‘Wow.’ I was like really young. I didn’t understand all those zeros and what it means and that kind of thing,” she says of hitting it big. “And then there was the first time they actually made us travel for Saved by the Bell outside of the states. And also Mark Paul [Gosselaar] and I went over to Europe when the show actually premiered in Europe. And it was the first time I had seen what the show was really doing outside of what I would say our little bubble was at NBC Studios in Burbank, California. And it was thousands and thousands of kids waiting in line to get an autograph or get a picture with us. I think that was the first time where I was like, ‘Wow. I kind of feel like New Kids on the Block a little.'”

After premiering in 1989 alongside Gosselaar and the rest of her co-stars, the show became a huge hit. So much so, that even today fans of the show can purchase items that Kelly, Zack, and the rest of the gang wore. “Actually I do have memorabilia!” Thiessen admitted. “I do. It’s tucked away very nicely in the garage somewhere! I see it on TV every now and then too. Not that I stop to watch it, it’s still a little hard for me to watch, but I do know that it’s still on.”

Though hard to narrow down, she also shared her favorite moment from on set. Hint: It included volleyball and the Carosi’s. “I think my most favorite time was probably the episodes that we got to go outside the studio and we were down in Malibu shooting for the summer. I would say that was probably my most favorite time.”

Thiessen had huge success on the series, and as we all know, eventually moved on to a new zip code. She may have found a grittier role in Valerie Malone, but she doesn’t seem to mind eventually showing some episodes of her Beverley Hills 90210 past to her 2 and a half-year-old daughter, Harper, one day. “I think at an appropriate age, yes. I have no problems if she’s curious.” Laughing, “I’m sure she’ll be very curious to see what her mother looked like back then.”

Image

Leave a Reply

