‘Battle Of The Seasons’ Exit Interview: Trey Reveals His Status With Laura, Marie’s Fallout And No Regrets Mentality

Image

To some Trey may come off egotistical and not a team player, but others (or perhaps the majority) will probably find him impressive for not once giving in to the huge alliance that took hold of the Challenge: Battle of the Seasons house this season. Just coming off his stint in St. Thomas, Trey was thrown together once again with Laura, Marie, and Robb to go head-to-head with some of the big vets. Luckily though, there was a lot of rookies to balance out the rest of the cast.

Trey had a lot of issues with other teams, and more importantly his own. During my recent chat with the Real World alum he discussed his teams division in detail, Marie’s recent Twitter un-following, and his theory that Marie was being fed false information. Plus, (the big question that you all really want to know!) has he and Laura made it official yet? The two do keep in touch just about every day, after all.

What was it like for St. Thomas heading into their very first Challenge?
TREY WEATHERHOLTZ: You know what’s pretty wild? It’s pretty overwhelming. I would say without trying to sound too conceded, I really felt really positive for being picked for a Challenge while we were in the house in St. Thomas. Actually, all of the guys were pretty strong and pretty built, but I just knew with my athletic background that it was very, very possible for me to do so I don’t want to say that I expected it, but I was really looking forward to doing a challenge. So when I got the call I was really excited. I was already in the television life because literally the Challenge happened so quickly after the Real World so I was ready to just go. I was still in TV mode, I was still used to being followed by cameras and stuff like that so I wanted to make it one mass experience as opposed to doing the Real World, coming home for three years, and getting a phone call from MTV and going and doing one. So it was pretty cool.

Your team did really well too. It didn’t seem like you were rookies.
Yeah, I appreciate that. I mean we felt like rookies obviously because we were new but at the same time as you noticed this Challenge was full of rookies so you almost feel like the playing field is really, really leveled.

What was your take on this huge alliance? You definitely weren’t going to suck up to them. It would have been awesome if you, Brooklyn, Las Vegas and Fresh Meat made your own alliance.
I think what’s awesome right now is that you guys are finally being able to see the real Frank. Finally being able to see him unfold. I mean you saw my friend Alton working out in the gym and Frank is just provoking him. He’s always doing that with Zach around to have his back or whatever. Alton I understand is a little crazy in his own mindset that he’s really indecisive but you know there was never a reason to provoke people and I felt like that’s what Frank would do. It was really uncomfortable to live with, and I didn’t really like him as a person. He would attack us on a daily basis, and to make a long story short, I just don’t want to align myself with people like that. I don’t do it in real life and I’m not going to do it on a television show. And even on this show you can argue that it may or may have not hurt my teams chances with the popular, I just felt like it was a justice to myself to put my foot down and just say, ‘No, I’m standing up for what I believe in and I really don’t like that kid. I really don’t like how he’s playing the game. I don’t like how he provokes people and basically just hurts people’s feelings.’ It’s just a really mean way to play the game.

As for CJ from Cancun, I feel like CJ played more of a role in the alliance and he was a bigger part, I would have aligned with him because he did it the right way. CJ is a very—I have nothing but great things to say about CJ. He’s a very polite person. He’s a good-looking guy. He’s athletic. CJ would always come up and say hey or whatever. But Frank just did it the wrong way and I would say Marie, ‘Listen I know he’s your friend, but I’m sorry. I just can’t do that. It’ll drive me crazy.’ The viewers would rip me a new asshole if I started breaking down my morals just to align with someone for money. That’s not cool.

Who would you say was your biggest threat then? If St. Thomas won a game, whom would you have put in the arena?
This was another thing we had a problem with because honestly Marie and I were on different pages for the majority of the time. It seemed as though her and Robb, which is basically half of our team, her and Robb wanted to stick with the alliance. They wanted to keep the alliance happy. They felt it was the best opportunity to stay in the house the longest, and I on the other hand was actually friends with every other opposite team. [Laughs] I was friends with Las Vegas. I was friends with Fresh Meat. I was friends with Austin. So it was really, really difficult. I kind of wanted to say thank God that we didn’t win because I would have been really torn, and you kind of see that when Vegas had to throw in Brooklyn. That really broke up Alton because Sarah and him had been hooking up and it wasn’t 100% consensus. Basically three of the teammates wanted to throw them in and he didn’t. I probably would have been the same way. I think Marie and Robb and maybe even Laura wanted to throw in one team, and I would have been the odd ball out and that wouldn’t have been cool. So, thankfully we didn’t come to that situation. I think if it had though we would have probably thrown in Fresh Meat as far as if they were still in the house. Honestly, because this is sad, everyone else is already picking on them and we didn’t really have to justify it. It was just almost like expected at that point.

Clearly there was a divide between you and Laura and Marie with Robb. What is it like today with you four? Did you have any fun at all as a group in Turkey?
Not so much. I actually think we had more fun in St. Thomas than in Turkey. There’s a huge difference between the Challenges and the Real World. The Challenges you’re not really allowed to leave the premises. You’re pretty much in lockdown 24/7. You can’t leave your house. At least in the Real World you can take a boat and go out in the island. We did a lot of fun things. Even if Marie and I weren’t getting along that day we still had to go to work at Coral World. At Coral World you’re working with sea lions and stingrays and sharks. So even when you’re in St. Thomas you can be having a bad day with one of your roommates but you’re still experiencing something amazing. Every day you would look out and you’re living in the Caribbean. It’s awesome. And the difference between Turkey is that you basically wake up every day feeling like you’re living in an insane asylum because you have Frank and you have Zach picking fights with everybody. You’re not getting along with Marie and guess what—you can’t leave the house. You’re stuck there with them. [Laughs] So that was probably pretty bad. It was a huge difference, but hey, it is what it is.

Do you have any regrets from playing the game?
No, I don’t really have any regrets. Do I wish something’s went a little bit differently? Sure. I wish I could have stayed there a little bit longer. I wish I would have won the money! I wish Marie and I had gotten a long a little bit better. There’s a lot of things I wish would have happened, but I don’t have any regrets on how I did. I got to think that I did things the right way. My family was proud of me when I came home and that’s all that matters.

Let’s talk about Laura standing up for herself to Marie about playing that fish game. Marie was so sure she would have been able to win compared to Laura. Did you agree? With those random games it always seems like a toss-up.
Well, if I could be completely honest with you, obviously Marie is friends with Frank and Zach of San Diego and I wasn’t big fans of there’s. I’ve never proven this to be true or false this is just my theory, I think they were kind of getting in her head and there was rumors and talks that we were going to throw the challenge. I think Marie was nervous that Laura and I were going to go up there and basically just lose and then we were automatically go into the arena. I don’t know why she would ever think that and I can’t prove if this is true or false. This is just rumors that are flying around. I think that’s part of the reason. But I think after I beat Chet and we were up 1-0, I think it proved to Marie like, “Look. We are here to play.” I felt like we had it in the bag, but Laura got up there and unfortunately she lost. She gave it an honest effort. I think she did great. I had a lot of confidence in her and at the end of the day at this point basically what you’ve seen is Marie and Robb have already participated in something because they did the egg toss, I carried the chariot by wearing the horse mask in the first game, and Laura hasn’t done anything. She was literally just standing around all day in the 112 degree desert watching us do everything, and I think that in Laura’s mindset she’s like, ‘Hey, I’m a part of this team too. I want to be able to put in work. I want to be able to pull my own weight. Its not fair that you guys keep doing everything.’ Also, we all felt confident in her. I mean, maybe Marie didn’t, but I didn’t have any doubts.

Do you keep in touch with Laura still?
Yeah, actually I keep in touch with Laura pretty much every day. I texted her earlier saying, “Good morning.” You know, stuff like that. It’s a little difficult because I’m still living in Maryland and she’s still living in Nebraska. It’s pretty long distance so as far as a relationship, I don’t really know where we stand. We communicate often. We do plan on visiting each other, but we both just don’t know how realistic it is to assume that something is going to come out of this. I mean we’d like to. We’re fresh off the show. We literally just got back, so still giving it an honest effort.

What about the rest of the cast?
In terms of Marie, Frank and people like that, no, I don’t talk to them. In fact, I just saw yesterday that Marie un-followed me on Twitter, I thought that was kind of funny. Evidently there’s still some bitterness there. I’ve actually seen Frank’s Twitter and they never have anything nice to say. It’s still ongoing. I mean the Challenge is over obviously. You guys don’t know who won, but obviously our filming is done. Basically we’re all back home and they just still come with the attacks. At this point I’m kicked off the show so I just want to be left alone. I’m not a part of this anymore. You know, you guys are still in the running for the money. Go talk to your team. Don’t seriously tweet and antagonize me all the time. Its bad so I just usually ignore the people I wasn’t getting along with on the show, but again I still keep in touch with Laura, Robb. I still keep in touch with Robb a lot. Most people I’m cool with.

Last but not least, are you up for another Challenge?
I’m still kind of 50/50 about the Challenge. I enjoy competing and I actually enjoy being on television. I think it’s awesome. I come home and my family and friends are watching me every Wednesday and they’re cheering me. It’s a really awesome experience. I do like that aspect, but I don’t like living in the house with people who just are not nice people. I mean that’s to put it nicely. If you could imagine just living in a mansion but just being stuck in your room because you just don’t want to deal with bullshit, and that’s really what it is. It’s like a prison. And in that regard, it’s miserable. So I’m kind of 50/50. I would like to say that I’m leading more toward yes because I would love to keep going and experience new places and meeting new people, but we’ll see when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

