Matthew Perry Chats ‘Go On’ Co-Star John Cho And What Makes Him Feel Old

1

Matthew Perry is of course not new to comedy by any means. The actor played Chandler Bing on the fan favorite Friends for 10 years and has since moved on to other lead roles in Studio 60 on the Sunset StripMr. Sunshine and his most current hit Go On on NBC. Playing Ryan King, a man who heads to therapy after losing his wife (trust us, it’s a comedy), Perry stars alongside John Cho, who just so happens to be his ultimate fan. Cho hasn’t been shy on relaying that message to Perry either. In a recent conference call, Perry replied to the, err, compliment.

“I love working with John. You know, we were very lucky to get him. I -we – he had been hired in the pilot as a guest star and then we asked him to be a regular and we were very fortunate that he said yes,” Perry revealed about the Harold & Kumar actor. “As for me being his comedic hero, he has mentioned that to me in the past and all that does is make me feel old,” he joked.

Though he pokes fun of his age, Perry does recognize what a fantastic career he’s had up until now, even if some series haven’t worked out in the past. “Friends was a magical thing. No one’s going to ever have anything like that again,” he admitted. “I’m a really lucky guy…I’ve just been very, very fortunate. You know, and the key to all of it is to make sure that acting is not, you know, the only thing you’ve got going on in your life, so you don’t identify solely with the ups and downs of that.”

Overall, you just can’t blame Cho for calling Perry his comedic hero. After all, Perry has certainly played one of the best and most memorable characters in television history. “I loved playing Chandler. That was, you know, I grew up sort of playing that part. I would saying probably in all honesty it’s Chandler and this character that I’m playing now, the character of Ryan King,” Perry said of his favorite role yet. “It’s a very sort of deep, enriching character to play because he’s going through so much and he’s also being very funny about it. So, I guess I would say Chandler and Ryan King.”

Leave a Reply

