Matthew Perry Searched For A Drama Before ‘Go On,’ Hopes To Continue His Stay On ‘The Good Wife’

Image

Isn’t Matthew Perry just the worst? On The Good Wife, that is. The Friends alum may have a good thing going on at Go On over on NBC, but occasionally Perry has taken some time out to head on over to Lockhart & Gardner to play the ruthless and rather unbearable Mike Kresteva. Mike often goes head-to-head with Julianna Margulies’ character Alicia Florrick, and has yet to step down from making her life miserable. The legal drama is a different turn for the comedic actor, but that doesn’t mean he hasn’t searched for more dramatic scripts over the past few years.

“I was looking to do a drama and had met all the networks and studios about – in the development season – about finding a drama and was sent this,” Perry recently said in a press conference discussing his new sitcom. “And it’s obviously a comedy and I could tell by, like, the amount of pages that it was a comedy and I called my manager and said why did you send me this and he said just read it. And I realized that it had, you know, all of the elements that I was looking for. It had, you know, it was definitely funny, it had a lot of funny characters in it. And also it posed a big dramatic challenge too.”

Perry admits he also thinks one is a bit more challenging. “I think doing a comedy is potentially more challenging because you’re sort of forced to do a joke a page and you’re forced to be funny at a certain rate. And I’m sure that will surprise most people because most people would think that I would say drama is harder because I’ve had so much experience in comedy. But, they’re both – they both pose their challenges. But I actually think doing a comedy is harder than doing a drama.”

Though so many have just been used to seeing Perry throw out the humor as Chandler Bing for 10 years, his dramatic role on The Good Wife definitely has left a mark too. In fact, Perry even hopes he can continue his arc on the CBS series. “I really love doing The Good Wife, I hope that I get to come back and do more. It’s really fun to play a guy who is just so evil. And, you know, I’ve been looking to do—I like to do both.” The roles have even crossed paths. “I got both jobs on the exact same day. I got Go On and The Good Wife both on the same day and it was a great day. So, I’m really happy with how Go On is going and I hope to get to do some more Good Wife in the future too.”

Leave a Reply

