Interview: ‘Degrassi’ Favorite Alicia Josipovic On Debut Album, Drake And Possible Fir

Image

Look familiar? Alicia Josipovic, who plays the once troubled Bianca De Sousa on the hugely successfulDegrassi, isn’t just acting as a high schooler these days. Alicia is finishing up her very first album and couldn’t be more excited about it! The actress chatted with me recently about the new venture and reveals that the entire process was inspired by her own life. From her father’s passing to a bad guy from her past, all of her songs are personal and she believes relatable to fans out there.

So, what can be expected from her debut? A possible first single titled “Psycho,”and even some music videos in the near future. A collaboration with Drake was also a discussion must!

Tell me about your album. When does it come out?

ALICIA JOSIPOVIC: I’ve been working on it for about a year and a half now, and we’ve been basically trying to find my sound over the last year and a half. It’s been really crazy because at first we were going in more of a rock direction because I love rock. My voice is very pop, so then we completely changed it and we were like, “We’re not going to do this.” We’ve found my sound: it’s very electro-pop, but it has an element of rock in there. All of my songs have guitars and drums, so that makes it a little bit edgier. In the midst of writing my album my dad passed away, which influenced a lot of my songs because that’s what I wanted to write about. People can expect a lot of ballads written for him, but I also have some up-tempo dance tracks – fun stuff, too! It’s really, really, really good. It’s coming together, and I’m really excited about it!

Must be exciting to see all of your hard work coming together.

Oh, yeah. Absolutely! It was so therapeutic for me. When my writers and I talk about one of the songs I wrote for him, called “Never Say Goodbye,” we’re just like, ‘Something happened, and it was magical.’ It was magical that day in the studio because the ballad is so heartfelt and it’s just so real. It’s just everything that I was feeling. We wrote this beautiful song for him, and I’m so proud of it. I can’t wait for people to hear it, and for everyone to hear my story. I know that the song will help a lot of people get through losses that they’ve had with loved ones, because it definitely helped me. I know a lot of artists have written songs about their loved ones who have passed, and those songs have helped me, so I’m just happy that I could do that for people.

I’m just happy that I was able to write that for him, because my dad was all about music. He taught me so much about music, and a lot of my influence actually comes from him. He showed me everything that I know now. I used to listen to a lot of old-school music when I was growing up. I didn’t listen to a lot of Backstreet Boys and Spice Girls. He made me listen to The Bee Gees, and The Beatles, and Kenny Rogers, and Lionel Richie. That’s what I was listening to all the time! I’m really grateful that he introduced me to those artists because now I just have such a sense of music.

That’s really special. Have you thought of the first single that you want to do? Do you have a title yet for the album?

I don’t have a title yet for the album. It’s in the works right now, but I can tell you that my first single will be released in the next six months. My first single will probably be an up-tempo song, and then we’ll start releasing the ballads. I wrote a song with an amazing writer, Nathan Ferraro, from the band Midway State. It’s called “Psycho” and it’s really, really cool. It’s a little bit darker, but it’s still up-tempo radio. “Psycho” is about this guy in my life who made me believe he was something completely different, and later on I found out that he was just this con artist, this monster. I was in the studio one day, and I’m like, ‘I want to write about this,’ because that what was going on in my life at that moment. I told Nathan the story, and he’s like, ‘Okay.’ We wrote the song in a day, and it’s just like, ‘It’s a smash!’ That’s the one that everyone likes, so we’re back in the studio fixing it up because we need to get it up-to-date. So, yeah, “Psycho” is potentially my first single. I’ve worked on so many songs since then, but that’s the one that everyone really, really likes.  I’m still going to keep working. I’m not done with my album yet. I’m almost done, but I’m still going to keep working on it.

Would you consider all of your stories inspired by your own life?

Oh, yeah. Absolutely! Everything that I write comes from my life; different situations that I’ve been in with boyfriends or my dad. It’s all about my real life events.

Are music videos in the future?

Oh, yeah – absolutely!

That’s awesome! 

Yeah! If “Psycho” is the first single that will be released, then we’re going to do a music video right after that. We’re going to think of a really cool concept. All of my music comes from a real place – it’s just a little bit darker.

Would you ever consider your music being featured on Degrassi?

Absolutely. Degrassi plays a lot of alternative music on the show – so I can definitely see some of my music being placed on the show, for sure.

Could you ever see Bianca singing?

No, because that’s not Bianca’s character! [Laughs] Bianca’s a dancer, so she’s never had a storyline where she sang, and it would be kind of weird for her to sing out of nowhere. I like to separate the two, anyway.

Are there any artists that you’d love to collaborate with?

Yes! Oh my God, T.I., for sure. He’s one of my favorites in the game. I’ve loved him ever since I was 12 years old, and I definitely would love to collaborate with him. I’m his biggest fan! I just love music, and I love so many different genres of music. Like I said before, I listened to a lot of Kenny Rogers and the Bee Gees. I love rock! I love ACDC, Def Leppard, Nickleback, but I still listen to a lot of Top 40. I listen to a lot of dance, so my sense of music goes all over the place.

How funny would it be if you did something with Drake?

Oh my God! That would be awesome! It would be kind of funny, because he was on the show forever. We have a lot of mutual friends, so, maybe it could happen in the future if he likes my stuff! I can’t really say. I don’t know him personally, but Drake’s awesome. I’m a huge fan of his music. I think he brought something new to the game, and I respect him a lot for that. It would be awesome to collaborate with him!

Do you see yourself doing both acting and singing in the future?

Oh, yeah. Absolutely! I’m asked this question a lot, ‘What do you like more?’ and I honestly can’t choose. When I’m on set, that’s what I’m doing. I love acting. But when I’m doing music, I’m just immersed in it. I want to do both for the rest of my life!

What are three other passions you have that fans wouldn’t know?

I’m originally a dancer. I’ve been dancing my whole life, and then I got into acting and singing. Recently, I started learning how to play the piano. It’s awesome! I’m learning all of my own material, and I’m learning a bunch of songs that I love to sing. I can’t believe I didn’t play it before. I was yelling at my mom the other day. I’m like, ‘Why didn’t you put me in piano lessons when I was younger?’ I love it. It’s so therapeutic; it’s so relaxing. I’m really, really enjoying it. Also, I don’t want to say I’m a fisherman, but I fish! My dad used to take my sister and me fishing every summer. We would go four hours up north in Canada. We’d camp in the bushes. I’d be out in the boonies, where there were no toilets or anything.

That’s cool, though!

Yeah, it was so much fun! I’m happy that we did that. I love cars; that’s a big passion of mine! I do love cars. I guess that’s it!

Leave a Reply

