Kat Graham Interview: ‘Vampire Diaries’ Star Lands New YouTube Music Show

Image

Despite having a killer acting gig on the CW’s Vampire Diaries alongside Ian Somerhalder, Paul Wesley and Nina Dobrev, actress Kat Graham has also been keeping busy with her budding music career. The actress just premiered her very first single “Put Your Graffiti On Me” a few months back, and is now being featured in the new show AwesomenessTV. “Road To…” is a behind the scenes YouTube experience for fans to see what tour life is currently like for Graham when it comes to her journey into the music industry.

“My style is a little crazy,” Kat admits to Ology. “I’ve always trying to like—I think I’m toning it down, but then I always wind up just kind of doing my own thing. My biggest style inspirations come from the 90s. I’m really inspired by TLC and I’m inspired by Janet Jackson and different designers like Jeremy Scott. I’m inspired by the drag queen scene, by the combat boots, the torn up jeans and baggy skirts. I love that look. I guess that’s kind of where I lie in terms of my own personal style.”

Kat’s fierce attitude certainly doesn’t go unnoticed when she takes the stage. Neither do her outfits that clearly show her creativity. “I love Kanye West and I’m really inspired by him a lot,” she adds. “He does something with men’s fashion, which rappers have done. Very few, like Pharrell, he’s done a lot. And MIA is huge too. People US Weekly just puts on their Fashion Police, but like not always on their cover.”

Filming for season four of TVD is underway and singing has become a huge priority in Kat’s life. But what else is she passionate about? She loves animals, art and spirituality. “I’m passionate about animals. I could be a bit obsessive about art and artists. Like Renaissance artists, most particularly Leonardo da Vinci and the history of things; the background of them and the story behind it. I’m very passionate about the Renaissance era.”

Leave a Reply

