Interview: ‘Pair of Kings’ Star Kelsey Chow Gives Scoop On Third Season, Who She’d Love To Work With

Image

Long are the days of Gigi Silveri on One Tree Hill, but lucky for us actress Kelsey Chow has continued to keep busy with new projects. Since her departure from Wilmington, Chow has gone on to work on the Emmy-nominated show Pair of Kings on Disney 😄 as Mikayla Makoola. Mikayla often comes in handy for the two twin brothers King Brady and King Broomer but it definitely seems as though there will be a change of character come this season. Pair of Kings returns tonight for its third season with even more surprises for fans: What will happen between Mikayla and Brady now that they’ve kissed? How has Mikayla changed since the pilot? Kelsey let us in on all of that and more!

While you stay glued to Disney 😄 tonight, also make sure to check Kelsey out this summer in two new films. Though she jokes that she’s only inThe Amazing Spider-Man “for two seconds” and “you could blink and miss me,” she still feels extremely lucky to have been a part of it. Looking for a romantic indie flick to catch this summer too? Her new film The Wine of Summer about a man meeting five unconnected people who ultimately bind together throughout his travels looks not only like a must see but shows the range that Chow is able to reach as an actor.

Pair of Kings season three premieres tonight! You excited?

KELSEY CHOW: Yeah! We are really excited for the premiere. It introduces a new character Adam King. I think it would be interesting to let the audience and fans to see it. We kind of all hope you will enjoy it. [Laughs]

You left off kissing Brady at the end of season two. What can audiences expect this season with your character?

I did, yeah! Unfortunately, Brady’s character does take a bit of a sabbatical or journey and kind of sees the world. But at the same time, ‘Boomer’, who is the long-lost brother of Brady played by Adam Hicks actually comes in and actually doesn’t like Mikayla. Mikayla reminds him of an ex-girlfriend. There’s kind of an interesting dynamic, especially how Brady was so head over heels for Mikayla.

You have a lot of episodes under your belt already. Is there any inside jokes with the cast? Do you hang out a lot off set?

Yeah! It’s really hard to believe that we’ve been doing this for so long. Ryan [Ochoa] is our little baby. I mean the kid pictures of him from the pilot to now is insane. He’s growing up. I feel like I look exactly the same. [Laughs] But absolutely! They are my home away from home…It’s been really nice to have a family to go to everyday and people to depend on. And yeah, absolutely! We hang out on and off set. I will try to especially try to get together as much as possible especially when we are not working. These people are going to be in my life seriously forever. I like having them there.

What have you enjoyed most about playing Mikayla?

An individual one, I love the fact that Mikayla was the tough girl! I still do. We do a lot of fight choreography. This season I would say Mikayla is pretty much like the bossy one. She’s always head-to-toe prepared. Mentally and physically she’s just on the go and this season she has let go a little bit and she’s becoming friends with the boys and is super geeky, a total nerd and she is a horrible dancer even more so. It’s just so much fun to play. The writers have really done a great job developing her character.

What’s your schedule like? Are you still attending Columbia University?

Yes, I am actually. I’m on a leave of absence for now and I just take time off while we work and I’m hoping to maybe go back soon after this season is over.

That’s great! You’re majoring in Global Health but do you see acting as your main priority for the future?

I am right, absolutely! I don’t know what else I would do with the rest of my life. I think with school, school is what I’ve always wanted to do and I’m a total nerd and I really enjoy it. I love being off campus and I get to meet amazing people there and have great experiences. I think that’s important to do while growing up. But at the same time, I wanted to major in something completely different outside the entertainment industry. But at the same time I do take film classes.

You are keeping busy on the big screen too! Tell me about your role on The Amazing Spider-Man that’s set to come out in July.

I am extremely grateful for the opportunity and to be on that set it was a learning experience and just a dream.

Did you interact with Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone?

I got to do a scene with Andrew Garfield. He’s incredible and I think he’s done a great job with the character. I really look forward to seeing it.

Would you say you enjoy working in film or television more?

No, I would love to do film. I’ve really, really enjoyed it. I would love to do it more and happy to have experienced it a little bit.

Who’s an actor you would love to work with?

I would love to work with Annette Bening. I think she is fantastic. One of the first films I saw of her was in the Grifters. She played an iconic woman and she was so captivating and she’s so good in everything she does. I feel like I would learn so much from being on set with her, so absolutely her.

The indie The Wine of Summer has a great trailer out now. You star as Brit alongside Elsa Pataky, Marcia Gay Harden and Ethan Peck.

The Wine Of Summer is very special to me because I remember reading the script and it’s such a beautiful story I couldn’t put it down. Maria Matteoli who had produced and directed it and had such a vision. She has such a beautiful soul so it’s a great script. It’s a coming of age story about James, played by Ethan Peck. He went to law school and toward the end of school he realizes he doesn’t want to do it. He wants to become an actor and he’s a terrible actor. And he’s very lost and learns a lot about himself and life in general. So I was happy to be a part of that story.

Leave a Reply

