Interview: ‘Boys To Manzo’s’ Albie And Chris Manzo, Greg Bennett Talk Inside Jokes And Each Other

Image

The Real Housewives of New Jersey didn’t just bring Bravo viewers a throwing of a table and Christening fight scene over the years. Since its 2009 debut audiences have also been able to enjoy the addition of a ‘Tarzan,’ a Delores, and a Punta Cana visit that put everyone’s antics ‘On Display.’

Within all the drama came the best of all though–Brothers Albie and Chris Manzo, and friend Greg Bennett getting offered to do their very own web series that aired this past summer. The Boys to Manzo series followed them living their day-to-day lives in Hoboken, NJ. A little Chris makeover here, a little Albie date night there.

I chatted with all three guys previously on what they’ve been up to but all of their inside jokes and what they thought about each other was a story all on its own. Check out their answer break downs here.

Inside Jokes

Greg: Hmm. What’s a joke we have? We have a lot of characters in Hoboken. There’s a girl who always pops up everywhere we go. No matter where we go, she’s always there in the background or the shadows. And one time she wouldn’t leave and I was like, ‘Do you hide in the bushes outside our apartment?’ Now every time we get home we check the bushes.

Chris: Oh, I’m sure Greg didn’t tell you about the guy that passed out in his bathroom. He wouldn’t. That’s a lot funnier than the stalker. A guy passed out in Greg’s bathroom. I don’t know if it was a friend of his or a special friend of his or what, but when he came out, it was like 2:30 a.m. We told him the fire sprinklers on the ceiling were cameras and he stormed out! He was freaking out and was like ‘I’m not signing anything!’ And

we told him there were waivers all over the apartment and once he walked in they started filming. Which couldn’t be more false. [Laughs]. That was one of my favorites.

Albie: I mean there’s a ton of inside jokes…Did they tell you about the story with the hidden cameras? I think that’s the funniest thing I’ve ever done to Greg. That was hysterical. [Laughs] I mean you name it its happened.

There was this one time [Laughs] I don’t even know if I should tell you this story because Greg is going to get so angry. We went to a bar one night—(No, no!) What you think he’s going to get mad at me Chris?…I just started telling that story and Chris went, ‘Ah can’t tell that. Can’t tell that.’ [Laughs] But the hidden camera thing was hysterical because the kid was just all over the map.

I’ll give you a good one. Greg one time–we just moved into the apartment and we had several of our friends down to see the place. If you ever saw with Greg, we always say wear your jewels and fur. And jewels and furs line comes from when we had a ton of people coming to the apartment in the first few weeks. One day I’m in bed and Greg’s in bed and I hear all this noise. It was a bunch of people coming back that we had invited over. They were walking back with Christopher and they had a bunch of girls with them and they were making a lot of noise. It was like four o’clock in the morning. And I hear ‘Get them out of here! Get them out of here!’ And I’m like, what the hell is going on? I walk outside and Greg’s screaming, ‘This is my hommeee! I live here! My jewels and furs are here!’ Like screaming at these girls that jewels and furs are inside the apartment. [Laughs] Worried about was going to be stolen. Like, Greg you’re out of your mind.

Describing One Another

Greg: Both of them are loyal. They are the two most loyal people I know. That’s a whole Manzo trait–they are loyal to the end.

Chris is hysterical, scattered, I would say. He’s all over the place all the time. Albie is sarcastic. He is definitely sarcastic and it stinks you don’t see that on the show. They always make him look like he’s very serious but he does have a great sense of humor–very dry and sarcastic. He’s also the most resourceful person in the apartment, always figuring out and solving our problems and helping us out.

Chris: Greg. Tall. Diva. It’s one of the huge jokes in our apartment that he’s filled with idle threats. Like he’ll say ‘This is not a joke.’ He’ll sound so ridiculous that we make it into a joke. Like, he’ll call me and ask me: ‘When [you] coming home? ‘Probably eight.’ ‘Are you cooking?’ ‘Probably not.’ ‘Whatever, I’m going to move out. F*ck this.’ He’ll just overreact so quickly and we’ll make a joke out of it. [Laughs]…He knows what he wants and he gets it. He’s definitely loyal. The best thing is that we’re best friends. We go through everything together.

Al, I shouldn’t even have a cell phone I’m around him so much. We’re always doing something together. It’s weird if we’re not…Oh, I’ve called him a lot of different words. He’s my brother, that’s an obvious one. And its almost strange how close we are. I mean his friends are my friends and my friends are his friends. Al, he’s serious. Handsome. The kid is handsome. He is nice, the nicest kid. I want to beat him up sometimes because he is too nice to people. We always say Al needs a lot of me and I need a lot of him. I’m one of the nicest guys you’ll ever meet but when Al sees that a gorilla has escaped from the zoo he’ll wonder what he could have done to stop it. He wants to help everyone. If anything ever goes wrong, he thinks it’s his fault. He really just wants to help.

Albie: [Laughs] That’s tough. We’re all really loyal to each other. That’s really the cardinal rule around here with all of us. Just stay true to who you are and stay loyal. It doesn’t really matter who you are, you just have to have that quality. I think my brother and I in a weird way have become better friends if that makes sense. He’s my brother and I love him but I don’t have to like him. [Laughs] I like him a lot and really enjoy spending time with him. He’s the funniest guy I know. He’s a hard worker with this stuff so I’m pretty proud of him. It’s kind of a weird relationship that we have because he’s the youngest one and I’ve always kind of felt bad. I got to kind of watch him because dad did work a lot and I was always home. So it was a lot of us spending time together.

And I think Greg; I don’t think you can describe Greg in three words. First of all, which Greg are we describing here? Like which one? [Laughs] Is it the meat head at the gym or is it the guy that’s wearing like cut off tank tops shaking his finger in the air? It’s really tough.

The fourth roommate

None of this would be complete without mentioning the always well-dressed dog Delores in the apartment. So when asking her age and how he got her Greg stated, “No body knows! She was rescued from a puppy mill. That’s another one of our inside jokes–that Delores is several hundred years old…I got her two years ago after a break up believe it or not. I rescued her from a puppy mill and they were breeding her and selling her puppies in pet stores. That’s only one recent chapter of her life; she’s led many lives.

Image

Leave a Reply

